GLOBAL WOMEN OF COLOR 2014

Home » Uncategorized » Photos of GWC Writers: Some identified.

Photos of GWC Writers: Some identified.

Can you name the writers pictured on the global women of color website?  How many of their books have you read?

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14

Some of the writers’ photo have been identified.  What about the others?

1. Toni Morrison

2. Shin Kyung-sook

3. Louise Erdrich

4.

5.  Edwidge Dandicat

6.

7.  Chimamanda Adichie

8.  Helen Oyeyemi

9.  Suniti Namjoshi

10.

11.

12. Marie NDiaye

13. Elizabeth Nunez

14. Leila Ahmed

11 Comments

  1. I can make out Toni Morrison and Chimamanda Adichie. I have read Bluest Eye by TM and three of Adichie’s novels, Purple Hibiscus, This Thing Around Your Neck and Half of a Yellow Sun 🙂

  2. Teresa says:

    Of I’m not mistaken, Louise Erdrich is in that top row; I’ve read many of her books but Painted Drum and the Last Report may be my favorites. Edwidge Danticat is in there; I quite enjoyed her novel Dew Breakers. I’ve had a copy of Helen Oyeyemi’s White for Witching on my TBR shelf for awhile because I enjoyed Icarus Girl and Mr. Fox so much. I’ve been meaning to reread Sandra Cisnero’s House on Mango Street. I only recognize Leila Ahmed because I caught a talk she gave, I’ve not been able to get a hold of any of her books yet.

    • mdbrady says:

      Good for you. I agree about liking Erdrich’s The Last Report and maybe her new Round House. I have Icarus Girl waiting on my shelf. Glad to have someone around whose read it. I liked Opposite House but felt there much I didn’t understand. I’m envious of your having heard Ahmed. I am very impressed with her thinking and writing.

      • Teresa says:

        I haven’t gotten a chance to grab Round House-I’m eagerly anticipating its arrival at my library (it’s still stuck in “ordering”).
        I thought Icarus Girl was well done. It takes some aspects from horror stories but mostly is just a wonderful little novel about a girl who’s struggling to figure out where she belongs. I found it rather magical realist in a way.
        I actually ended up in Ahmed’s talk by mistake! I was in the wrong building (the lecture for class I was supposed to be in had the same room number) but didn’t realize it and after Ahmed’s introductory anecdote I was hooked and riveted. Very clear points that were elucidated in ways that transcended nationality. I loved it.

  3. Niranjana says:

    I spy Suniti Namjoshi!

  4. olduvai says:

    Marie NDiaye in the bottom row! And I think that might be Shin Kyung-sook who wrote Please Look After Mom

  5. mdbrady says:

    Yes. You are right on both.

  6. Eva says:

    I’m late to this game, but 13 is Elizabeth Nunez! 🙂 Also, Oyeyemi & Adichie are in the wrong order.

Leave a Reply

