GLOBAL WOMEN OF COLOR 2014

Home » Uncategorized » MY FAVORITE FANTASY AND SPECULATIVE FICTION BY GLOBAL WOMEN OF COLOR.

MY FAVORITE FANTASY AND SPECULATIVE FICTION BY GLOBAL WOMEN OF COLOR.

Yesterday I saw a tweet requesting suggestions for fantasy books by people of color. When I couldn’t limit myself to a tweet, I decided to post my recommendations here.

 Ghost Bride, by Yangsze Choo

Swan Book and Carpentaria, by Alexis Wright

The Best of All Possible Worlds, by Karen Lord.

Women without Men, by Shahrnush  Parsipur

Zahrah the Windseeker, by Nnedi Okorafor.

Although this is a blog about Global Women, I have to also include Grass Growing, Water Running by Thomas King.

Other women of color who regularly write fantasies and speculative fiction.

Isabel Alende

Nalo Hopkinson

Octavia Butler

 In addition, I wrote a blog about how fantasy by people of color can be unique.  Read it here.

For the last two years Aarti has hosted A More Diverse Universe, a time for reading and sharing such books. You can find her blog here.  She will have other suggestions.

Readers:  What other suggestions can you add?

3 Comments

  1. writingjordi says:

    I’d recommend Ambelin Kwaymullina, a fairly new writer of novels, who has released two of the four books in her science-fiction series ‘The Tribe’. She’s a master of plotting (don’t be deceived by the seemingly simple beginning of the first book), and the world building is influenced by Australian Aborginal Dreamtime mythology.

  2. Eva says:

    N.K. Jeminsin!!! I wish she’d written a million books, because at this point I’ve read the 5 she’s written and then reread them for good measure. Fantasy is one of my favourite genres & I hate how challenging it is to find POC/global authors writing in the genre.

    Of Bees and Mist is one I’ve read more recently by an Indonesian/US author (he moved here when he was a teen): it was fabulous, set in a kind of southeast Asian melting pot city plus magic with a very domestic/family oriented plot. Written by a man but with excellent women characters.

  3. mdbrady says:

    Thanks for the suggestions. I will see what I can find.

Leave a Reply

